Welcome to The Benchwarmer, Grab Yourself a Seat

By Cameron Ramos
January 6, 2017

Hey everyone! My name is Cameron Ramos and this is The Benchwarmer blog! I had started this blog almost two years ago as a blog focusing on the New England Revolution, Major League Soccer, and soccer around the world. I had a great time writing the soccer blog, but there were always other sports that I wanted to cover and share my thoughts about. Today I decided to scrap the original Benchwarmer blog and start again.

When I was growing up, I was never really into sports. On NFL Sundays, you would find me reading a book instead of watch a Pats game with my dad. My family also had (and still does) Revolution season tickets and my dad would basically have to beg me to go to the game with him. I don’t know why, but I just didn’t enjoy watching games. I could have cared less about sports. It wasn’t until the Summer of 2007 that I had my epiphany moment where my interest in sports started to grow. I don’t know why I randomly started to become interested in sports. I just did. The Red Sox were really good that summer, and I would watch games all the time on NESN. I started going to Revs games too and I was hooked. I would try to go to every match that I could. Later that Fall I went to my first ever Pats regular season game with my dad using our season tickets and I got to see the Pats beat the Buffalo Bills for one of their 18 wins in their almost perfect season (I hate you David Tyree…).

Since that Summer of 2007 my love of sports has continued to grow. Living about 25 minutes away from Boston, and 20 minutes away from Gillette Stadium, I am an AVID New England sports fans. I live and die with the Revolution, Patriots, Red Sox, Celtics and Bruins. I have a lot of thoughts and opinions about sports that I have always wanted to share, and this will be a place where I can do just that! I hope that this blog can serve as a sort of journal for me to write about things in sports that interest me, talk about games I have been to, and anything else that pops in my mind when it comes to my favorite teams and the leagues they play in. I was never good at playing sports, but I have been pretty good about watching them from the bench! Now is my time to share my journey as a sports fan in New England. I hope that you all enjoy!

Be sure to follow The Benchwarmer Blog on Twitter at @TheBenchwarmer7 and Cameron Ramos at @CamRamos95

Leave a comment